Diy Leather Fringe Skirt

 

IMG_4230

I picked up a long, elastic waisted skirt from the local goodwill down the street from my house. It was sitting in my fabric pile for a lonnnggg time. I knew I would find something to do with it eventually! A girl can never have enough leather. Except maybe bikers, they probably have enough. However, I stumbled across an awesome tutorial while on pinterest from apairandaspare (http://apairandasparediy.com/2014/03/diy-fringe-leather-skirt.html). Finally, a cute option for my frumpy leather skirt!
IMG_0400

 

I began by using a seam ripper to take out the lining of the skirt. I then took the elastic out of the waist, took in the sides of the skirt to fit my waist, and added a zipper. The zipper was honestly the hardest part of the entire project!
IMG_0401

 

Next, I chopped off the bottom of the skirt and used a ruler and a thin point sharpie to mark where I wanted to cut the fringe. I ended up cutting my fringe into fourths from the original fringe cut because I made the strands way too wide.

IMG_0402

IMG_0403

 

I’m so happy with how it turned out!

 IMG_4228IMG_4234

Posted in DIY

Leave a Reply

